Skip to main content

NC State Extension

Wheat Yield Contest

The NC wheat yield contest is conducted each year to give recognition to those growers who do an outstanding production job. Rules are set by the NC Small Grain Growers Association which also sponsors all of the awards. The contest is certified through NC State Cooperative Extension. Anyone who produces wheat from newly purchased seed in NC is eligible to enter. Recognition categories include 1st, 2nd and 3rd Place growers in each of three Production Regions and 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Place Producers Statewide. All growers who achieve 100 bushels/acre are inducted into the 100 Bushel Wheat Club. All growers who achieve 125 bushels/acre are inducted into the 125 Bushel Wheat Club. 

All entries must be submitted electronically using the Wheat Yield Contest Entry Form available beginning May 28th 2021.

A qualified entry must be completely filled out and certified by a local N.C. Cooperative Extension County Agent, a County Extension Director or NCDA Regional Agronomist. It must also include a rough sketch with dimensions and the weigh ticket including moisture and test weight readings from the elevator where it was delivered. Multiple entries may be submitted, but only the highest entry on each farm will be considered a qualified entry in the contest. If you are a grower who leases land or grows for another farmer who also enters the contest, please only include your name on the entry form and not the name of the farmer you grow for to avoid disqualifying entries.

For questions about the yield contest or the entry form, please contact Dr. Angela Post at

Previous Winners and Production Practices

See a full description of all production practices used for each entry in the 2014 contest.

Winners Lists

2014 2013 2012 2011
2010 2009 2008 2007 2006
2005 2004 2003 2002 2001